Kids’ Fingerprint Christmas Cards

I love fingerprint art, there are so many creative ideas to explore! Not to mention that is is a fun, censorial and unique way to have little ones produce their own handmade crafts. I immediately remembered this fingerprint technique when I received the weekly letter from my little girl’s school, I so much appreciate those weekly communications, by the way, it makes me happy to know what is going on in her school. In the letter, the principal invited the families to help, if they could, with the Adopt a Grandparent Program. It is a thoughtful initiative that will provide joy to 500 nursing home residents at Christmas time. It warmed my heart when I read that and I knew I wanted to be part of it, even if my family’s contribution was small. All she was asking was for families to give as many handmade Christmas cards as possible to be attached on the gift baskets to be given the residents.

I started searching what materials I had on hand in order to produce these cards and I found a stack of five 8.5″ x 11″ poster board sheets and some left over acrylic craft paint that would work well with this fingerprint technique. I also remembered I had brand new ink cartridges in my home inkjet printer! All set to create and make! 🙂

I did go online to research some ideas and found interesting handmade cards on pinterest. But the one that stood out the most was the fingerprint Christmas light craft for kids I found on the Crafty Morning by crafty mom Michelle. You can check her work by clicking on thins link to her website: http://www.craftymorning.com/fingerprint-christmas-light-craft-for/

So here is what I came up with:

christmaslightsfingerprintcard_13

You can download the art of this Christmas card or Christmas gift tag on the link below and produce it yourself! Just have to mention a couple of things:

  • In each 8.5″ x 11″ sheet you have 4 cards
  • On the PDF document you will notice a light gray horizontal line and another light gray vertical line crossing the horizontal one in the middle, these lines are cutting lines
  • In order to cut the cards, I used a 12″ metal ruler, a heavy duty utility knife and a cutting board
  • It’s easier to cut your cards after they are painted and fully dried

My daughter loved painting these cards, look at her little pointer finger printing some nice Christmas lights!

Time to let all the paint dry so we can cut all the cards.

This is the final product: Fingerprint Christmas lights cards for 20 of the 500 Adopt a Grandparent Christmas basket. My little girl was so proud of her work and happy to contribute to this wonderful project.

christmaslightsfingerprintcard_02

I am happy with the result and wish the recipients of these cards along with the gift baskets, have a merry Christmas!

I hope you enjoyed this little project as much as me and my girl did and can use my template for your own little production. See you in another post!

Download: Kids’ Fingerprint Christmas Cards

Leave a Reply

